ICT and Computing

Mr. C Edwards

Head of Learning

Mr. C Edwards
Mrs. S Spring
Mr. R Clarke
Mr. P Butler
Mr. E Lloyd
Miss. C Plews
Mrs. N Jones
Mr. J Atkinson
Ms. P Jones

Department Vision

The ICT department is at the forefront of many whole school initiatives including working and liaising with other departments in delivering VLE training, developing department website and ICT across the curriculum. We are committed to raising attainment which has helped to build a culture of achievement within the department. ICT students want to learn and are not content unless they are achieving their full potential. Teachers in the department understand the importance of celebrating their students' successes and place particular emphasis on this. There is a departmental drive on making students become independent learners which is done through students enjoying and having high levels of motivation for the subject.

  1. We aim to be at the forefront of developments in innovative teaching and to develop a strong enterprise ethos.
  2. We will enable our students to become lifelong, enterprising, independent learners, able to take risks and assume responsibility confidently.
  3. To ensure students develop a commercial awareness and knowledge and understanding to pursue a career in ICT.

Lower School

At Key Stage 3, ICT and Computing is taught to year 7 and 8 with pupils receiving 3 lessons per fortnight over a 9 week rotation with the Technology department. The curriculum delivery plan prepares the pupils for taking the ICT or Computing qualification in year 9 and 10. The programme covers areas such as word-processing skills, presentation skills and desktop publishing skills and incorporates the new computing curriculum including programming, web design, graphics and will enable pupils to think like a computer scientist. One important aspect is cover where the pupils complete a project on understanding the dangers of the Internet and how to stay safe online.

Upper School

In key Stage 4, the students study the following:

  • ICT pathway: Year 9, 10 and 11 students study for the ITQ L1 and 2 qualification and covers a variety of units that will prepare them for their A-levels in 6th form or work including; web-design, spreadsheets and desktop publishing.
  • ECDL Pathway: Year 11s have the option to complete the Level 2 European Computing Driving Licence (ECDL) this equips the pupils to develop practical skills in the some of the main Microsoft Office applications such as Word, PowerPoint and Excel.
  • Computing Pathway: Year 11 students study for the OCR GCSE qualification in Computing. This is made up of one exam paper that is for 40% of the marks (Unit A451) and two controlled assessment pieces of coursework units that both contribute 30% each to the final mark. This includes a practical investigation (Unit A452) and a programming project (Unit A453).

Sixth Form

There are 2 pathways in the sixth form that are on offer. The first pathway is one of the 2 BTEC courses.

Year 12

The first is the BTEC Level 3 National Extended Certificate in Information Technology (new for 2016). The entry requirements to access this courses is 5 GCSEs A*-C and is delivered over a 2 year period, with the final exam at the end of the 2nd year and is equivalent to 1 A Level. There are 3 mandatory units, 1 internal and 2 external. Learners must complete and achieve at pass grade or above for all these units including 1 optional unit to pass the course.

The pupils will cover the following units over the 2 year period:

Year 1:

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems

Unit 2 Creating Systems to Manage Information

Unit 3 Using Social Media in Business

Year 2:

Unit 1 Information Technology Systems (continued from last year)

Unit 6 Website Development

Year 13

The second BTEC qualifications for ICT is the BTEC National Subsidiary Diploma for IT Professionals (2010) and is in the final year. The entry requirements are 5 GCSEs A*-C which give the pupils an outcome equivalent of 1 A Level. The students will study the following units over a 2 year period:

Year 1:

Unit 1Communication and Employability Skills for IT (Compulsory)

Unit 2Computer Systems (Compulsory)

Unit 31Computer Animation

Year 2:

Unit 30Digital Graphics

Unit 11Systems Analysis and Design

Unit 42Spreadsheet Modelling

ITGS – Year 12 and 13

The second pathway in the sixth form is the Information technology in a global society (ITGS). The ITGS framework is modelled on a ‘triangle’. It uses an integrated approach, encouraging students to make informed judgements and decisions about the role of information and communication technologies in contemporary society with a coursework project that is focused upon a real project and then a final exam at the end of the 2 year course.

All pupils must approach the course following 3 strands. These include:

Strand 1: Social and ethical significance

strand 2: Application t specified scenarios

Strand 3: IT Systems.


Students' are set work on a weekly basis that reflect the coursework they are working on at the time. Students are guided as to what they are to study and strongly encouraged to become independent learners and thinkers. As a department we advocate the ethos of "lifelong learning".

  credit-ID FBP member logo


If, as parent or guardian of a student attending this school, you require a paper copy of the information on this website, we shall provide this free of charge.
The Abbey School Faversham is a company limited by guarantee registered in England. Company No. 07697086
Copyright The Abbey School © 2017. Web site maintenance by Faversham Designs.